Dee Dee Bridgewater and Delroy Lindo set to co-host – Billboard


Tony Dee nominees Dee Bridgewater and Delroy Lindo have been selected as co-hosts for the inaugural Jazz Music Awards, scheduled for Saturday, October 22 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center in Atlanta. Bridgewater was nominated for Tony for her star performance in The genius (1975). Lindo was nominated for her star performance in Come and Gone by Joe Turner (1988).

Bridgewater is also a two-time Grammy winner for separate albums in which she paid tribute to jazz legends Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday.

Dianne Reeves, Kenny Garrett, Marcus and Jean Baylor of The Baylor Project, Somi, Lindsey Webster, guitarist Brian Bromberg, harpist Brandee Younger and pianist Orrin Evans have been added as performers, joining previously announced performers Bridgewater, Ledisi, Lizz Wright and Jazzmeia Horn.

The show will open with a performance by The Baylor Project, joined by Reeves and Horn. The show will also include a musical tribute, “Songs of Social Justice”, also featuring Reeves and Horn, as well as Bridgewater, Ledisi and Wright.

Garrett and Evans will pay tribute to McCoy Tyner, who posthumously receives the Jazz Legend Award. Organist Ray Angry, guitarist Mark Whitfield and saxophonist Marcus Strickland will perform in a medley honoring three jazz musicians who died this year – Joey DeFrancesco, Ramsey Lewis and Pharoah Sande

Bassist James Genus, trumpeter Milena Casado, drummer Nikki Glaspie, pianist Orrin Evans and DJ and percussionist Kassa Overall are also part of the group assembled by musical director Terri Lyne Carrington.

The Jazz Music Awards will feature awards in eight competitive categories as well as six special accolades.

The Jazz Music Awards is a non-profit division of Jazz 91.9 WCLK at Clark University in Atlanta, owner of HBCU and licensee of WCLK. For updates, visit

Source link

Henry R. Wright