The inaugural Jazz Music Awards show takes place this weekend in Atlanta


Tony Award-winning artist Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo will host the ceremony.

The first Jazz Music Awards are set to begin Oct. 22 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center in Atlanta, reports The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Tony Award-winning artist Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo will host the ceremony. Artists scheduled to perform on Saturday include Dianne Reeves, Jazzmeia Horn, Kenny Garrett, Ledisi and others.

According to the official Jazz Music Awards website, the event “recognizes jazz as an American musical art form, born of African American experience and innovation, rooted in blues, ragtime, swing , bebop and creative improvised music, including Latin music”. jazz, mainstream, smooth and other contemporary or hybrid forms.

Ledisi, here at the May 2021 “Run The World” VIP screening and reception in Los Angeles, is among those scheduled to perform at the inaugural Jazz Music Awards on October 22, 2022 in Atlanta. (Photo by Emma McIntyre/Getty Images)

“We are honored to recognize and showcase a diverse array of dynamic and innovative artists, including our six winners and 33 nominees,” Jazz Music Awards creator and executive producer Wendy F. Williams said in a statement. reports Billboard.

“We are officially the first and only award show to exclusively celebrate jazz music on an international platform in North America,” Williams said. “In recognizing our winners and nominees, we give thanks for their incredible artistry that reinforces the rich tradition of jazz, which is an integral part of American music and culture.”

The late pianist and composer McCoy Tyner is set to receive the Jazz Legend Award and saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter will receive a lifetime achievement award, reports Billboard. These are two of the honorary awards that will be presented during the ceremony. Prizes will also be awarded in eight competitive categories, and the four-time Grammy-nominated Baylor project leads with three nominations for the album “Generations.”

The eligibility period for applications was from April 1, 2021 to March 31, 2022.

Previewing the show at the AJC, Williams said: “You’ll see nine great performances by artists topping the jazz charts, a main stage, a public spectacle from musicians who have satisfied the audience and performed in front of hundreds of thousands of people and are now here on our stage, performing and being honored.

She said she hopes the Jazz Music Awards will eventually have the profile of other such programs. “Our goal is to elevate art to be recognized like other art forms,” Williams explained. “Jazz is American art and there was no award ceremony for our genre. Our hope is to elevate the Jazz Music Awards to the status of a television show like other major awards ceremonies.

Here is the full list of nominees in all eight competitive categories, according to Billboard:

Best Mainstream Artist
Joey DeFrancesco, more music
Kenny Garrett, The sounds of the ancestors
Christian McBride & Inside Straight, Live at Village Vanguard
Brandee Young, somewhere different

Best Contemporary Artist
Brian Bromberg, Some catchy music
Ben Tankard, SHINE!
Lindsey Webster, “I Didn’t Mean It”
Ragan Whiteside, “Off the Cuff”

Best Duo, Group or Big Band
The Baylor Project, Generations
Jazzmeia Horn and her noble strength, Dear love
Christian McBride & Inside Straight, Live at Village Vanguard
Count Basie Orchestra, Living in Birdland
(edited by Scotty Barnhart)
Kevin Eubanks and Orrin Evans, EEE (Eubanks-Evans-Experience)

Best New Jazz Artist (Contemporary or Mainstream)
Simon Moulier, Countdown
Julieta Engenio, Jump
Kazemby George, I insist
Samara Joy, Samara Joy

Best Vocal Performance
The Baylor Project, Generations
Somi Kakoma, Dream Zenzile
Stacey Kent, Songs from elsewhere
Shawn Monteiro, You are the

Best Mainstream Album
The Baylor Project, Generations
Orrin Evans, The magic of today
Kenny Garrett, The sounds of the ancestors
Brandee Young, somewhere different

Best Contemporary Album
Bob Baldwin, The Stay Home Series, Volume 1
Brian Culbertson, The Red Trilogy
Sonny Emory, soul ascension
Gabriel Mark Hasselbach, Tongue and groove

Song of the Year (Fan Vote)
Norman Brown, “Back to You”
Brian Culbertson, “Feel the Love”
Justin-Lee Schultz, “Gruv Kid”
James “PJ” Spraggins, “Up From Here”

TheGrio is FREE on your TV via Apple TV, Amazon Fire, Roku and Android TV. Also, please download theGrio mobile apps today!

The post-inaugural Jazz Music Awards show is this weekend in Atlanta appeared first on TheGrio.

Source link

Henry R. Wright